The Best Vegan Chips For Satisfying Those Savory, Salty Junk Food Cravings
Let’s face it: sometimes, when you’re in the mood for something indulgent and delicious, nothing hits the spot quite like a package of your favorite chips.
But if you have a specific dietary restriction, like if you’re following a vegan diet, the right chips can be hard to come by. There are a ton of chips out there catering to plant-based eaters, but far too many of them sacrifice the flavor and goodness in an effort to be vegan-friendly.
If you’re looking for the best vegan chips, we’ve got you covered. Here are 12 of the best vegan chips on the market that will actually leave you feeling satisfied and your cravings fulfilled.
PeaTos were specifically made to bridge the gap between bold flavors and healthier, plant-based snacking. With both Rings and Curls options, and with a variety of flavors including Cheesy, Onion, Pizza, and Fiery, you get a wide array of your favorite chip flavors, minus the real cheese and dairy that rules Cheetos and other popular junk food options out for vegan eaters. As an added bonus, PeaTos are made with peas, not refined flours or other filler ingredients, for extra nutrition while you’re snacking.
Lay’s Original Potato Chips
Lay’s is one of the most iconic potato chip brands in America as well as throughout the world. They’re perhaps best known for their original Classic Potato Chip flavor, which is made with a super-simple list of ingredients. Potatoes, vegetable oil, and salt, all of which are very vegan-friendly.
Sabritones are puffed wheat snacks that are produced and distributed by Frito-Lays. With mouthwatering chile & lime flavors, they’re a great option for satisfying your craving for flavor and spice, with zero animal-based ingredients! They’re also “accidentally” vegan and perfect for plant-based eaters!
Kettle Brand is known for its thick and naturally flavorful potato chips. Some of the flavors are suitable for vegans, including the favorite Jalapeno flavor. Other vegan options in this brand include the Sea Salt, Pepperoncini, and Sea Salt & Vinegar flavors.
Cape Cod Kettle Cooked Potato Chips have a reputation for making potato chips that are simple but delicious, and their Sea Salt & Vinegar flavor is no exception. These potato chips are packed with both salty and sour flavors, and they are made with simple, plant-based ingredients.
Doritos Tortilla Chips are world-renowned for their bold flavors, and the Spicy Sweet Chili flavor is one of the most popular options out there. And in good news for vegan, this chip is also made with zero animal-based ingredients! Instead, it owes its bold flavors to a mix of spices and sugars.
The iconic corn chip brand by Frito-Lay, Fritos, is made with nothing more than corn, corn oil, and salt, which means it’s a suitable snacking option for vegans. If you’re looking for other vegan Frito products, you can also eat the Fritos Scoops!, Fritos Lightly Salted, and Fritos Flavor Twists Honey BBQ.
SunChips are best known for their light and flaky grain-based chips that stray from the usual potato chip mold. While many of the line’s other flavors are made with milk and other dairy products, the Original flavor is made with 100% whole grains and zero animal-based ingredients, making it suitable for vegans and vegetarians alike.
All Dressed is an uber-popular potato chip in Canada, and it’s plant-based friendly to boot! The sweet & savory flavors come from a rich blend of salt, vinegar, sugar, and spices, not animal products.
The Barbecue-flavored PopChips are vegan and come with plenty of the smoke and tang that you expect out of your favorite BBQ Chips. As an added bonus, PopChips are made by “popping” them with the use of a pressurized chamber, which means no deep fryer and way less oil used in the process.
TERRA brand chips are probably best known for their use of multiple root vegetables besides potatoes (think blue potatoes, sweet potatoes, parsnips, taro, and yuca). Most of their flavors are vegan, with the exception of the Mediterranean, Tropical, and Sweets & Apples flavors.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is veganism?
Veganism is a lifestyle where you avoid using animal products for food or other consumer goods. Veganism is also sometimes referred to as “plant-based” since you depend on plant foods and textiles.
People choose to become vegan for a wide variety of reasons, including animal welfare, personal health, and religion. Some of the most common items that vegans avoid consuming/using include meat, poultry, fish, dairy, honey, leather, and fur.
What ingredients found in chips are not vegan?
While chips are generally made from plant-based ingredients like potatoes and wheat flour, they can sometimes be flavored with additives that include animal-based products.
Some of the most common flavoring agents that are used in chips that you should look out for include cheese, milk, whey, buttermilk, cream, and butter. Flavoring agents sometimes include animal enzymes as well.
How can I tell if a chip is not vegan?
Ideally, you would be able to find a “vegan” or “plant-based” label somewhere on your chip of choice that would indicate that it’s suitable for vegan eaters. However, if you’re still uncertain, the best thing to do would be to read the ingredients label and scan it for animal-based ingredients (see above).
You don’t need to give up your favorite kind of junk food if you decide to go vegan. You just need to find the right brands and flavors that fit your new dietary needs!